The Board of Advisors is a formally constituted body established under the auspices of the University System of Maryland Board of Regents. Its principal responsibility is to represent broad community interests and to ensure that student, business, local and state government, and higher education needs are addressed in the development of the Universities at Shady Grove. Within this framework, the role USG's Board of Advisors members is to:

  • Provide advice and support to the Executive Director.
  • Offer guidance on strategic development and implementation in the following areas: program identification, advocacy, fund-raising, cooperation and partnership building, marketing and promotion, financial and facilities planning, and evaluation and assessment.
  • Demonstrate their commitment to access in higher education for all students, in accordance with the Board of Advisors' Statement on Commitment to Equity.

The Board of Advisors and the Executive Committee hold several meetings throughout the year which are open to the public for viewing. Topics of discussion are typically posted a few days prior to the scheduled meeting dates. The public may access the meetings for the 2022-2023 session here.


Kevin Beverly Mr. Kevin Beverly, Chair
Executive Committee Member
Education Advocate
Steve Hull Mr. Steve Hull, Vice Chair
Executive Committee Member
Founding Editor & Publisher
Bethesda Magazine
Eric Lin

Dr. Eric Lin, Liaison, Vice Chair

Executive Committee Member
Director, Material Measurement Laboratory

National Institute of Standards and Technology

Roya Ms. Roya Mohadjer, Vice Chair
Executive Committee Member
Vice President, Business Development 
Battelle Memorial Institute 


Fernanda Arnaldez

Dr. Fernanda Arnaldez
Executive Global Product Leader, Oncology R&D

AstraZeneca PLC.

Charles Barnett

Dr. Charles Barnett
Executive Committee Member

Senior Vice President, Engineering

Hughes Network Systems


Joann Boughman

Dr. Joann Boughman, ex-officio
Executive Committee Member
Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic & Student Affairs
University System of Maryland


Ms. Shirley Brandman

Executive Committee Member
Education Advocate


Michael Britnall

Dr. Michael Brintnall

Executive Committee Member
Montgomery College Board of Trustees

Andy Burness

Mr. Andy Burness

Executive Committee Member


Francisco Cartagena Bracamonte

Mr. Francisco Cartagena

Alumni Representative

City of Gaithersburg

Cybersecurity Master's Program - UMBC

Daniel Cochran

Mr. Daniel Cochran

Executive Committee Member

Adventist HealthCare Shady Grove Medical Center

Marc Elrich

The Honorable Marc Elrich

Montgomery County Executive


Ms. Ellen Herbst, ex-officio
Executive Committee Member
Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance
University System of Maryland


The Honorable Patrick (“P.J.”) Hogan
Executive Committee Member
Vice President
Cornerstone Government Affairs


Dr. Bernadette Johnson-Williams, Liaison
Executive Committee Member

Senior Regulatory Health Project Manager
U.S. Food and Drug Administration
*Ms. Johnson-Williams is serving in her personal capacity.

Anne Kaiser

The Honorable Anne Kaiser


Maryland General Assembly

Anne Khademian Dr. Anne Khademian, ex-officio
Executive Committee Member
Executive Director
Universities at Shady Grove

Nancy King

The Honorable Nancy King
Maryland General Assembly


Nancy Kopp

The Honorable Nancy K. Kopp, Emeritus
Maryland State Treasurer

Ike Leggett

The Honorable Isiah "Ike" Leggett

Executive Committee Member
Board of Regents

University System of Maryland

Lisa Mandel-Trupp, Esq.

Lisa Mandel-Trupp, Esq.

Executive Committee Member

Chief of Staff to Councilmember Marilyn Balcombe

Montgomery County Council

Monifa McKnight

Dr. Monifa McKnight

Executive Committee Member
Superintendent of Schools

Mongomery County Public Schools

Ken Mills

Mr. Ken Mills

President and Chief Executive Officer



Mr. Michael Priddy 

Interim Healthcare

Jorge Restrepo

Mr. Jorge Restrepo

CEO & Founder


Dusty Rood

Mr. Dusty Rood

Executive Committee Member
President and CEO

Rodgers Consulting, Inc.

Marty Rosendale

Mr. Martin Rosendale



Debbie Spielberg

Ms. Debbie Spielberg

Special Assistant to the County Executive

Montgomery County Government

Paul Tchorni

Mr. Paul Tchorni

Vice President, Human Resources Operations

Marriott International


Mr. Bill Tompkins

President and CEO

Montgomery County Economic Development Corporation



Mr. Larry Walker
Executive Committee Member
The Walker Group

Dr. Jermaine Williams

Dr. Jermaine Williams

Executive Committee Member


Montgomery College



Ms. Teresa Wright, Emeritus
Retired Parent Resource Teacher - ESOL Hispanic Alliance
Montgomery County Public Schools

Bob Mr. Robert Youngentob
President & Chief Creative Officer