Overall policy-making responsibility for the administration of The Universities at Shady Grove shall be vested in the Shady Grove Governing Council. The SGGC shall be composed of the provosts from all institution participating in USG's regular course offerings. It shall be chaired by the USM Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs. The responsibilities of the SGGC shall include:

  • Review and approve academic policy proposals from the Academic Planning Advisory Committee.
  • Approve the annual budget and submit it to the USM.
  • Approve new academic programs.
  • Review all recommendations for student fees before forwarding to the University System of Maryland Board of Regents.
  • Approve charges to Participating Institutions.
  • Determine the scope and character of student and ancillary services at the USG within the constraints of resources in the approved annual budget.
  • Ensure that services and facilities at USG conform to the standards of the Maryland Higher Education Commission and appropriate accrediting authorities.
Members  

Dr. Joann Boughman, Chair
Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs
University System of Maryland
3300 Metzerott Road
Adelphi, MD 20783
301-445-1992
jboughman@usmd.edu

Dr. Karen Olmstead 
Interim Provost and VP of Academic Affairs
Salisbury University
Holloway Hall, Room 245
1101 Camden Avenue
Salisbury, MD 21801-6837
410-548-3374
klolmstead@salisbury.edu

Dr. Guy- Alain Amoussou

Interim Provost and VP for Academic Affairs

Bowie State University 

14000 Jericho Park Road 

Henry Building, Suite 2200

Bowie, MD 20715

301-760-4438

aaamoussou@bowiestate.edu

Dr. Mary Ann Rankin
Senior VP for Academic Affairs and Provost
University of Maryland, College Park
Room 1119, Main Administration Building 
College Park, MD 20742-5031
301-405-1603
mrankin@umd.edu

Dr. Timothy Chandler
Provost and Executive VP for Academic Affairs
Towson University
Room 311 Administration Building
8000 York Road
Towson, MD 21252-0001
410-704-2356
tchandler@towson.edu

Dr. Philip Rous
Provost and Senior VP for Academic Affairs
University of Maryland Baltimore County
Administration Building, Room 1002
1000 Hilltop Circle 
Baltimore, MD 21250
410-455-2333
rous@umbc.edu 

Ms. Blakely Pomietto 
Interim Provost and Senior Vice President

University of Maryland University College
3501 University Blvd. East, 3131 ICC
Adelphi, MD 20783
301-985-7174
blakely.pomietto@umuc.edu

Dr. Darlene Branningan Smith
Executive Vice President & Provost
University of Baltimore
1420 North Charles Street
Room 249 Academic Center
Baltimore, MD 21201
410-837-5244
dsmith@ubalt.edu

Dr. Stewart Edelstein
Executive Director
Universities at Shady Grove
9640 Gudelsky Drive
Rockville, MD 20850
301-738-6034
sedels@umd.edu

Dr. Kimberly Whitehead

Interem Provost and VP for Academic Affairs

University of Maryladn Eastern Shore

3111 John T. Williams Building

Princess Anne, MD 21853

410-651-6143

kdwhitehead@umes.edu

Dr. Bruce Jarrell
Chief Academic & Research Office 
Senior Vice President
University of Maryland, Baltimore
620 W. Lexington Street
Baltimore, MD 21201
410-706-1850
bjarrell@umaryland.edu