The Universities at Shady Grove (USG), in coordination with the Office of the Chancellor within the University System of Maryland (USM), is conducting a search for USG’s next Executive Director. At this critical and exciting point in USG’s development, we are seeking a successor who can build on momentum achieved under the leadership of USG’s long-serving Executive Director, Dr. Stew Edelstein. We seek a leader who recognizes and can further enhance USG’s unique mission, strengthen its relationships with partnering institutions, and develop new avenues for addressing the education access and workforce development needs of Montgomery County, the wider region, and the State. Finding the very best person to lead USG into the future is of the highest priority to the USM, USG’s partnering institutions, and to the students, faculty, and staff who study, work, and teach at USG.

To identify USG’s next Executive Director, we have appointed a prestigious and diverse search committee, representing key stakeholder groups in the USG community. A list of the search committee members is linked above.  Assisting us with the search will be Isaacson, Miller one of the nation’s most respected executive search firms and one well familiar with Maryland’s higher education community. In close coordination with Isaacson, Miller, we will use a variety of venues and mechanisms, including a community town hall and information posted to this website, to solicit, receive, and evaluate input from the USM community and other key stakeholders on the needs and expectations for the next Executive Director. This input, in turn, will be used by the committee to develop and refine a position description and profile for the next Executive Director, and to screen and interview candidates as we advance through the search process.

We are excited to see what the future holds for USG, and we invite your input and support as we seek the next Executive Director who will help lead USG to even greater heights!

— Ellen Herbst, USM Vice Chancellor for Administration and Finance (committee co-chair)
— Dr. Mary Ann Rankin, University of Maryland Senior VP and Provost (committee co-chair)