Film Festival Students

The University of Maryland, College Park Communication Department hosted their first annual Student Film Festival. A panel of judges screened over 40 films that were created in the department’s film classes. The best films were selected to be screened at the film festival that took place on December 10th. Films were nominated for 13 award categories. The audience had an opportunity to vote on the “Terp’s Choice” award for film, and for “Terp’s Choice - Screenplay.” The screenplays were produced in the Screenwriting for Television and Film course. Winners received a certificate and gift to commemorate their accomplishments. This was a great opportunity for film students to develop specific skills and to display their work. Over 100 attendees enjoyed popcorn and a multitude of different types of films. Click here to watch the award winning films.


Best Editing
"Lessons by SOHN"  by Shaun Rosa
"Atlas Road Crew" by Kenly Khan

Best Music
"Slackin’ the Bass" by Ryan Deputy
"More Than a Headache"  by Layla Mahgoub       

Best Actor
Comedy - Raul Rivera, “Finding a Date”
Drama - Daniel Zevallos, "The Journal" and "Wake Up"

Best Actress
Judy Grados, “Lessons by SOHN”

Best Stop Motion Film
"Fruit Salad" by Laura Cooper-Martin

Best Music Video
"Lessons by SOHN" by Shaun Rosa

Best Mini Documentary
"Sonya’s Story" by Jack Edwards, Austen Villemez, Rola Haddad, Kristine Jiminez, Pervaan Ahuja

Best Documentary
"GCT" by Amelia Ross
"Life after Iraq" by Diana Guerrero
"More Than a Headache" by Layla Wisal Mahgoub

Best Screenplay
"The Journal"

Best Cinematography
"The Journal" by Daniel Zevallos, George Peng, Guanxiong LiHox
"Pockets" by Katherine Turner

Best Director
"Wake Up" by Daniel Zevallos

Best Picture
"The Journal" by Daniel Zevallos, George Peng, Guanxiong Li

Terp’s Choice (Audience Vote)
Film - "The Journal" by Daniel Zevallos, George Peng, Guanxiong Li
Screenplay - “National Insecurity” by Austen Villemez

Judging Panel:

Lindsi Baltz: Assistant Director, Department of Communication

Rachel Czarniak: President, UCA (Undergraduate Communication Association)

Justin Edgar: Director, USG Center for Recruitment and Transfer Access

Elizabeth Malliakos: Program Management Specialist, Department of Communication

Brandon Smolen: Coordinator, USG Human Resources

Eleni Stamoulis: Director of Social Media and Marketing, UCA (Undergraduate Communication Association)