The Universities at Shady Grove (USG) honored 25 graduating seniors from undergraduate programs at USG for their outstanding academic achievement, drive to excel outside of the classroom, and commitment to serving the community during the USG 14th Annual Student Achievement and Leadership Breakfast on April 20, 2018.

“These 25 students are among the best and brightest at USG and represent the next generation of leaders in our region,” said Dr. Stewart Edelstein, Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs for the University System of Maryland and Executive Director of USG. “USG is proud to serve these outstanding students, who understand the value of both academic success and community engagement. We know they are going to have bright futures ahead of them.”

Outstanding seniors from undergraduate degree programs offered at USG, who have demonstrated academic excellence, received the Student Academic Achievement Award. Award recipients were selected on the basis of grade point average, participation in internships and honor societies, and contributions to their program of study.

Student Leadership and Service Awards also were presented to two seniors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership, service and dedication to USG and the community at large. These recipients were selected based on participation in extracurricular activities, community service and their commitment to their fellow students. The first recipient is Carmen Kaarid, a UMBC Social Work student, and the second recipient is Geraldin Leukeu, a UMCP Criminology and Criminal Justice student.

The keynote speaker was Debbi Jarvis, Vice President of Corporate Relations, at Exelon. Ms. Jarvis and her team develop strategies around corporate goodwill in the communities served by its three operating utlity companies: Pepco, Delmarva Power, and Atlantic City Electric. She instilled words of wisdom and congratulated students on their achievements.


Photos of the event are available here.

2017-2018 Undergraduate Student Leadership awardees:

Academic Winners  School  Program
David Murgueytio SU Exercise Science
Molly Lichtenstein TU Early Childhood Education
Taryn Burson Moreno TU Elementary Education/Special Education
Rebecca Yobouet UB Health Systems Management
Natalie Rosser UB Simulation and Game Design
Etty Ekra UMB School of Nursing
Roxanne Beels UMBC History
Diana Carrillo UMBC Political Science
Steph Zazanis UMBC Psychology
Kathryn Guzzey UMBC Social Work
Evelyn Solis UMCP Biological Sciences
Rachel Nelson UMCP Communication
Jinadaree Gonaduwage UMCP Criminology and Criminal Justice
Hayat Wondimu UMCP Public Health Science
Bryant Bowman UMCP Robert H. Smith School of Business - Accounting
Ashton Trevino UMCP Robert H. Smith School of Business - Management
Marina Gonzalez UMCP Robert H. Smith School of Business - Marketing
Patrick Phat Pham UMES Construction Management Technology
Brianna Greenberg UMES Hospitality and Tourism Management
Svetlana Alperovich UMUC Business Administration
Marina Grekova UMUC Accounting